# MICHIGAN ART EDUCATION ASSOCIATION DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD RECIPIENTS

#### Distinguished Service Award Winners for 1989 are:

Cindy Madry in appreciation for her service to arts education in Michigan

**Dr. Joan Burke** for her service to Arts Education

**The Kellogg Foundation** for their contributions to art Education in Calhoun County

## Distinguished Service Award Winners for 1990 are:

**Ken Hoover** for his dedication to the arts education of Michigan

The Michigan Department of Education Task Force for their work on the Essential Arts Goals and objectives for Michigan

**Jane Gilbert** for her contributions and commitment to Arts education in Michigan

# Distinguished Service Award Winners for 1991 are:

**Pam Meland** for her dedication to MAEA as the newsletter editor and co-chair of 1989 Conference

**Deane Peterson** for her dedication to MAEA as the newsletter editor and co-chair of 1989 Conference

Lou Vanderhave for his dedication to Arts education in the Grand rapids Schools and community

# Distinguished Service Award Winners for 1992 are:

**Robert Fionda** for his service to MAEA as President and treasurer, each for four years

**Sharyn Austin** for here service to MAEA as Second Vice President and her work on the Constitution and By-Laws ratification

The Detroit Institute of Arts for their commitment and dedication to the arts community

**Ruth Sundberg** for her commitment to Museum Education at the Battle Creek Art Center

Jennifer Davidson Fine Arts Consultant for Oakland Intermediate Schools Distinguished Service Award Winners for 1993 are:

**Dr. Frank Philip** for his commitment to the arts of Michigan

**John Hartom** and **Lisa Blackburn** for commitment to Empty Bowls, Kids and Clay, and Imagine: Render a Gift of Peace.

Christine Biagas for her dedication to the culture and Arts of Deetroit

#### Distinguished Service Award Winners for 1994 are:

Lansing Art Gallery for their commitment to Arts Education

Joann M. Ricci Executive Director of the MI Alliance for the Arts

Ray Quada CEO of Wendy's Western Michigan

#### Distinguished Service Award Winners for 1995 are:

**Marcia Compton** for her dedication to staff development of the Lenawee County Art educators

### Distinguished Service Award Winners for 1996 are:

National Conference of Artists Gallery Commitment & Dedication: accepted by Shirely Woodson Reid, in support of exhibitions of student work from the Detroit Public Schools

**Nedra Fisher**, for her support of Art Reach of Mid Michigan's outreach programs

Parke Davis accepted by Robert Fionda, for their loyal support of MAEA Distinguished Service Award Winners for 1997 are:

Newaygo County Services for their contribution and commitment to the arts Walled Lake Schools for their contribution and commitment to the arts

Distinguished Service Award Winners for 1998 are:

**Dearborn Public Schools, Jeremy Hughes** 

The Saginaw News

Cindy Smith, Jamie Smith, Sally Allen, Teddy Wells for their dedicated service to MAEA

Senator Michael J. Bouchard for his dedicated service to the Arts of Michigan Detroit Country Day School, Mr. Glen Shilling head master

# Distinguished Service Award Winners for 1999 are:

Sheila Lee, Margaret hall, Pam groves and Jack Summers for their dedication to setting up the Scholastic art Show

Dominic Pangborn of Pangborn Design

Dr. Arthur Park and Mary Park for their contribution to Arts education

# Distinguished Service Award Winners for 2000 are:

Elaine Kolasa for her contribution to Arts education

**The Dow Corning Corporation** 

Dan Lisuk for his service to MAEA and arts education

Ms Stevie Mack of Crizmac for her dedication to Arts Education

The Saginaw Art Museum

Ron and Barbara Ruth owners of Rovin Ceramics

#### **Distinguished Service Award Winners for 2001:**

**Detroit Institute of Arts Education Department**: LaNeysa Harris-Featherstone, Jennifer Williams, Lisa Blackburn, Nancy Jones

Helen Joldersma Bonzelaar, outstanding service to the Arts

Lowell Area Arts Council, for their support of the Arts

**Carol Tice,** for her dedication to MAEA and a major founder of Blue Lakes Fine Arts Camp

#### **Distinguished Service Award Winners for 2002:**

Ana Luisa Cardona, MDE

Art Serve Michgan, Barbara Kratchman, Donna Edwards

Julius Kusey, service to MAEA

**Okemos Art Patrons** 

#### Distinguished Service Award Winners for 2003 are:

Nancy Berkompas, Nominated by Rich Guimond

Michael Heinz, Nominated by Sara Menge

Michigan State University Department of Art and Art History, Nominated by Pam TerBush

### **Distinguished Service Awards for 2004:**

Name Nominator Letters of Suppor

College for Creative Studies Julia Tomaro, Kathy Heystek Jerrie Laytner Frederik Meijer Garden and Sculpture Park Cat Timermanis and Suzanne Butler Lich

**Original Works** Kim Cairy, Kathy Heystek **Michael Ross**, Cindy Smith, Linda Louisell

Nedra Fisher

Linda Thompson, Suzanne Butler-Lich

Lin Culver

**Sandra Trosien,** Roberta Rizzardi Price, Megg Lewandowski, Patti Rogers, Linda Warrington

Kenneth C. Fischer, Suzanne Barney, Rita Bock, Barbara Boyce, Kari Falk, Stella Kirby

## **Distinguished Service Awards for 2005:**

Name Nominator Letters of Support

Sara Menge, Michael Heinz, Robin Aslakson

Pinckney Community Schools, Alex Wagner

School Board and Superintendent Mary Ann Brockett

Erica A. Karfonta

Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe of Michigan Cindy Smith

Michael B. Ross, Nedra Fisher

Friends of the Visual Arts, Cinda Schantz

St. Stephen Parish School Susan Nash

Don and Carolyn Sugg, Rev. Patrick C. O'Connor

#### **Distinguished Service Awards for 2006:**

Name Nominator Letters of Support

**Davis Publications**, Pete Jacobsen Madeline Milidonis-Fritz Mary Miller **James Gillingham** Cindy Smith Jan Alfano, Joan Pence

Cindy Smith

**Kendall College of Art and Design, Mary Miller Lynn Schatzle** 

Ferris State University Mary Miller

Runyan Pottery and Supply, Inc Stefanie Lapenta Lynn Schatzle

Pamela TerBush

# **Distinguished Service Awards for 2007:**

William Harmon: Dennis Inhulsen, Harvey Goldstein, Mary Miller

Robert Wright III: Madeline Milidonis-Fritz, Kimberly Herrala, Marjorie Long

Jo-Ann Van Reeuwyk: Sherrie Davis, Suzanne Butler Lich,

#### **Distinguished Service Awards for 2008:**

Connie Clark: Candy Falkowski

Cr. Diane D. Kordich: Harvey Goldstein Cynthia May: Michael Heinz, Rich Guimond

Cat Timmermanis: Suzanne Butler-Lich

Cindy Ziegler-Smith: Rich Guimond, Michael Heinz

### **Distinguished Service Awards for 2009:**

Ruth Knapp, K-12 Fine Arts Coordinator Saginaw Public Schools: Kim Cairy, Madeline Milidonis-Fritz

Dan Soelberg, MAEA Webmaster: Madeline Milidonis-Fritz, Kim Cairy Margaret Black, MAEA Bookkeeper: Madeline Milidonis-Fritz, Kim Cairy Education for the Arts of Kalamazoo: Nancy Turner Douglas, Donna Emerson

#### **Distinguished Service Awards for 2010:**

Kim Dabbs, MYA Exec. Director: Kim Cairy

M. Karen Thomure, retired MAEA member: Amy Vander Pol, Michael Heinz Nancy Turner Douglas, reg 5 Liaison: Stefanie Borysiak, Lindsey Van Meter Fred Douglas, MAEA Merchandise: Stefanie Borysiak, Lindsey Van Meter

#### **Distinguished Service Awards for 2011:**

**Ms Barbara Rensenhouse, RRR from Art Education at WMU:** Fred and Nancy Douglas

### **Distinguished Service Award for 2012:**

Amy Armand, Director of Recruitment Services for College of Creative Studies; nominator Julia Tomaro

#### **Distinguished Service Award for 2013:**

**Maureen Roslanic,** retired Art Educator now working for Service Reproduction Co Nominators: Jennifer Hurrle, Kerry Shadbolt

Grand Rapids Art Museum,

#### Distinguished Service Award for 2015:

**Teckla Rhoades,** Executive Director of Global Industrial Design, General Motors **Donald Desmett**, Director of Exhibitions for the James W. and Lois I. Richmond Center for Visual Arts at Western Michigan University